Facebook better safe than sorry post fools users

A new Facebook hoax has resurfaced called the “Better safe than sorry’ post. The aim is to copy and paste the message to avoid losing your Facebook intellectual property.

The message we have noticed being posted onto Facebook Timelines says, “Better safe than sorry, right? Channel 13 news was just talking about this change in facebooks privacy policy. Better safe than sorry. As of January 4th, 2015 at 5pm Central standard time. I do NOT give Facebook, or any entities associated with Facebook, permission to use my pictures, information, or posts, both past and future. By this statement I give notice to Facebook that it is strictly forbidden to disclose, copy, distribute, or take any other action against me based on this profile is private and confidential information. The violation of privacy can be punished by law (UCC 1-308-11 308-103 and Rome statute). NOTE: Facebook is now a public entity. All members must post a note like this. If you prefer, you can copy and paste this version. If you do not publish this statement at least once it will be tactically allowing the use of your photos, as well as information contained in the profile status updates. DO NOT SHARE. You MUST copy and paste to make this your status. I will leave a comment so it will be easier to copy and paste!”

Facebook better safe than sorry post fools users

This is clearly a hoax and it is fooling people, we here at OSM checked our personal Facebook Home feed and saw the post on majority of our friends timeline – you were fooled friends oh dear.

In a Nutshell

Facebook do not need any sort of approvals, as soon as you sign-up and login to Facebook you are agreeing to the terms and conditions – you have already given them approval. Facebook can now share, distribute and of your material based on your privacy settings.

The Facebook last updated its ‘Privacy Basics‘ November 2014, they also updated its ‘Statement of Rights and Responsibilities’ on 15 November 2013. Users can if they please control how their information is shared, this can be done using the privacy and application settings.

Did you copy and paste the Facebook better safe than sorry post?

Facebook better safe than sorry post fools users pic 1