iOS 4.2 Release: Download Time – PST, EST, GMT

Earlier today we brought you the news that a lot of you have been waiting for and reported that Apple’s iOS 4.2 may be released today, from a reliable source, following on from the release of the golden master 4.2.1. We also said we’d tell you if it was confirmed and now it’s official. Later today you’ll be able to download iOS 4.2.

The news comes to us from Jason Snell over on Macworld who says that Apple has now confirmed the release which is coming at the time we previously predicted, at 10:00 am PST, or that’s 1:00 pm EST or 6:00 pm GMT for the U.K. The release will bring more features to the iPhone, iPod Touch and specifically the iPad which will see the benefits of multitasking for the first time.

If you wish to get the update it’s a good idea to do a back up on your device from iTunes in case of any glitches, before you begin. When you attach your device to a PC or MAC, go to the iTunes source list and select the device used, then click on the ‘Check for Update’ button. The release of iOS 4.2 is sure to make a lot of people very happy, especially those eager to try out new features on the iPad.

For more on this go to macworld.com. Are you upgrading to iOS 4.2? If so let us know if it goes smoothly or you get any problems by sharing your comments with us.